Friday 16th December 2016


Well done to the following students who I have met with recently to celebrate their exceptional performance in our recent Student Tracking Review sessions :-

Year 7 – Archie Peffers, Amira Berdouk, Charlotte Fox, Ellie Harrison, Leah Harrison, Matthew Royle, Sophie Williams, Phoebe Davies, Amelie Griffiths, Alisha Lowe, Reuben Rees-Slawson, Abigail Bartlett, Niah Bradley, Poppy Ellis, Sophie Kelly, Emily Llewellyn, Luke Martin, Mischa Williams, Jamie Austen, Ruben Easedale, Amelie Griffiths, Joshua Stennett, Pruthin Subakaran and Thoran Weston-Jones.

Year 8 – Benjamin Arden, Lilly Duggan, Elin Faragher, Celyn Felton, Penny McCormick, Molly Pitt, Freya Searle-Jones, Catrin Jones, Jessica Spridgeon, Stephanie Bull, Joely Edwards, Ieuan Jones, Harrison Jackson, Ruby Jones, Jack Davies, Abigail Evans, Lucy Eyes, Daisy Higginson, Sarah-Joy Hughes, Molly Cartwright, Scarlett Hargreaves, Hannah Ison, Kailin Meredith, Kai Welch and Sophie Williams.

Year 9 – Joshua Berdouk, Cerys Jones, Grace Royle, Ffion Smith, Ella Bradley, Toby Rees-Slawson, Connor De Winter, Rosie Roberts, Meilir Roberts, Kian Howells, Jessica Roberts, Ellie Bryan, Katie Newns, Chloe Pay, Abigail Redhead, Lucy Thompson, Colin Twells, Matthew Sandoz, Sammy Bakewell, Ayden De Winter, Megan Hanmer, Luke Shaw and Chloe Weale.

Year 10 – Kathryn Austen, Michael Astbury, Adam Rothero, Jessica Whitehurst, Dylan Drew, Cari Haynes, Jessica Smith, Lauren Wineyard, Owen Raynor, Alice Webb, Shannon Samuel, Nia Shone, Luke Armstread, Georgia Considine, Niamh Bethel, Charlotte Haden, Ewan Williams, Elliot Bull, Rhiannon Daly, Eleanor Walters, Adam Morris, Jessica Barber, Jack Ellis, Hamish Peffers, Joe Tilston, Jack Barnes, Adam Bakewell, Heather Peters, Nathaniel Jones, Dewi Parry, Josie Welch, Freya Davies, Heather Jones, Max Williams, Niamh Hellen, Samantha Tresidder, Cara Jones, Ewan Povey, James Attwood and Owen Baker.

Year 11 – Grace Davies, Betsan Lloyd, Holly Atkinson, Carys Jones, Amelia Jones, Hannah Spruce, Esther Rhodes-Leader, Saskia Jones, Amelia Salt, Anna Seddon, Kate Overington, Lois Parry, Ella Perks, Elin Smith, Seren Astbury, Charlotte Hill, Andrew Cowling, Jaimie Lloyd, Robyn Lawson, Hannah Nutkins, Sharn Wilford, Georgia Hargreaves, Joseph Rees-Slawson, Jonathan Parry and Jack Barron.

On Monday of this week we held our annual Presentation of Certificates Evening with many ex-students returning to take part in one of the highlights of the school year.  The evening was made even more special by the attendance of Mrs. R. Jones, wife of our late Chair of Governors Cllr. T.W. Jones. Mrs Jones came along to oversee the first awarding of our ‘T.W. Jones Memorial Cups’ to one boy and one girl from last year’s Year 11 whose academic and wider contribution to school life was outstanding.  Well done to Darcy De Winter and Richard Swinburn on being the first two recipients.  Our Guest Speaker Dr. Rob Darlington, Senior Lecturer at Liverpool John Moores University gave an inspiring speech, reflecting on his own experiences and offering students advice for the future.

Our Lower School Choir went to Chestnut House in Hope on Monday afternoon to sing Christmas Carols with the residents.  Well done to Jessica Harris, Millie Edwards, Emma Edwards, Ellie Harrison, Abbie Roberts, Madison Brown, Lilia Martinez, Charlotte Clark, Olivia Arthur, Amira Berdouk from years 7 and 8, and also to our Sixth Formers – Hannah Jones, Hannah Griffiths, Bethan Jones, Gaby Nash, Lucy Hughes, Annie Beggan, Caitlin Mortlock, Georgina Pearson and Francesca Hughes who also attended.

The students from our music department have been extremely busy this week with Carys Jones Year 11, Izabel Coles Year 8 and Imogen Ankers Year 9, also playing in a harp recital in Tyddyn Street Church in Mold on Sunday with ex-student Sophie Clark who is now a harp teacher.

As mentioned last week I attended ‘A Celebration of Christmas’ by the Flintshire Music School Concert on Friday evening.  I was extremely proud of the contribution made by Castell Alun students including Hannah Benjamin, Hannah Cartwright, Lucy Cartwright, Grace Davies, Lilly Duggan, Adam Edwards-Hodson, Abigail Evans, Rachel Gittins, William Gittins, Lucy Hughes, Elle Jarrett, Carys Jones, Hannah Jones, Lucy Norris, Ella Perks, Abigail Pettican, Ben Thomas, Rebecca Tresidder, Samantha Tresidder, Millie Whittle, Ben Wiggs, Sam Wiggs and Abigail Wisbey.  Rory Williams and Caitlin Mortlock also read at the ceremony.

Year 9 Food Bank 2016

Year 9 students have been feeling very charitable this festive season and have been donating tinned foods to support the local Flintshire Food Bank. Students were asked to bring a variety of tinned foods in exchange for opening a window on a Cadburys Advent Calendar. Da iawn to 9R for being the first form to open all windows.

Here are Callum, Colin, Harvey and Luke with a sample of 9R’s donations.
A representative of the Flintshire Food Bank came into school today (Friday 16th December) to collect the tinned food and they were very appreciative of Year 9’s charitable donations.

Good luck to Harvey Arrowsmith, Callum Say, Adam Bakewell and Oliver Jones (Captain) all from Year 10 who are playing rugby today for RGC U15s against Newport Schools.

Library Christmas Quiz 2016

The Library Christmas Quiz was great fun with lots of teams taking part and the winning team were The Christmas Pudding – Charlotte Clark, Amber Calby, Jack Davies and Sian Shenyagwa from Year 8.
They won on the tie break question, getting the closest to the year Queen Elizabeth made her first Christmas Day message.

Well done to them and everyone else who took part.

Our assembly today was on the theme of Christmas and we enjoyed excellent readings from Freya Searle-Jones and Daisy Higginson.  The assembly was topped off by a fantastic rendition of James Bay’s ‘Best Fake Smith’ by the staff band.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all members of our school community for their support this term and to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.